The S-Word (Submission) (Start Marriage Right)

If you popped over from Start Marriage Right, welcome! You might be interested in this post, about how and why I got involved with Start Marriage Right. Or this series on planning my wedding, which will continue all month.

I’m starting in on the controversial stuff over on Start Marriage Right, thanks to Renee Fisher and the infuriating book she lent me, the one with “help meet” in the title. The whole time I was reading it, I was thinking of these sort-of mind-blowing words from my pastor…

The best and worst (read: most squirm-inducing) part of premarital counseling was when our pastor asked us to read Ephesians 5:22-33 and explain what it meant to us. If you are engaged or newly wed, or a woman, I don’t need to tell you this is the passage that begins, “Wives submit to your husbands….”

I was honest: I’ve always struggled with this passage, I said. But maybe it wasn’t so bad. I trusted Joel, and I knew he wouldn’t make any decision that didn’t put me first. Joel said something equally diplomatic about the heavy responsibility of decision-making.

Then our pastor asked,

“Where does it say anything about decision-making?”

For the rest of the story, read The S-Word (Submission) (Start Marriage Right).

Linking up with:

Photo credit: Start Marriage Right.