REPOST: Your local bride’s perspective on the royal wedding (Between the Bylines)

by Emily McFarlan Miller

Happy first anniversary, William and Kate! This time last year, I was 23 days out from my own wedding and a little bleary-eyed after waking up at 5 a.m. to watch the royal wedding. That didn’t keep me from blogging about it for The Courier-News’ Between the Bylines blog, though. You can read all our Between the Bylines posts on the royal wedding here.

Here’s “Your local bride’s perspective on the royal wedding.”

I’m no Anglophile. To wit: I inaccurately referred to the Queen as “the Queen Mum” at about 4:30 this morning on Twitter. (To be fair, it also was 4:30 THIS MORNING.)

But I am a bride-to-be (in 23 days… but, like I said yesterday, who’s counting?). And a journalist. That made watching the royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton and feigning interest in it in the wee hours of the morning kind of mandatory.

I’m not going to lie, though. Sometime between making fun of the fact the Queen’s (again, not the Queen Mum) brooch had a NAME and it was THE QUEEN MARY’S TRUE LOVER’S BROOCH… and that Princess Bea looked like some evil creature from Fantasia… and the time Kate arrived at Westminster Abbey at 5 a.m., I was interested.

TEARDROP EARRINGS! The bride was wearing sparkly teardrop earrings! Her hair, down! And LACE! And the Queen was in yellow!!! My wedding, so vomit-inducingly close, is so on-trend right now!

Then there was Prince Harry, sneaking a peek at his brother’s bride coming down the aisle over his shoulder and whispering to William, “She looks incredible.” And the groom, joking to Kate’s father at the altar, “We were supposed to have a small family gathering.” And Kate, mouthing to her husband as they left the church she was “so happy.” Those are the little, unscripted details that are far better than anything any bride could come up with in, say, EIGHT MONTHS OF TORTUOUS, MIND-NUMBING PLANNING.

After a week in which I took a straight pin to a vein and spurted gory, horror movie amounts of blood all over my white wedding dress during a fitting… a week of news of tornadoes and budget cuts and murders and drug busts… a little frivolous, entirely joyful news wasn’t so bad.

The Bishop of London said during his sermon at the royal wedding (which I loved and was based on one of my favorite passages of Scripture):

Many are full of fear for the future of the prospects of our world but the message of the celebrations in this country and far beyond its shores is the right one — this is a joyful day! It is good that people in every continent are able to share in these celebrations because this is, as every wedding day should be, a day of hope.

If the royal wedding brings you a little joy, a little hope, who am I to begrudge you that? It certainly brings me a little hope to think THE END IS IN SIGHT. Not to mention, THE EARRINGS ARE GOING TO WORK.

Just remember, when we get to my wedding, what the Bishop of London said next:

“In a sense every wedding is a royal wedding.”

Photo credit: Green Wedding Shoes. Squiggles divider by IROCKSOWHAT.

