How God can use your life story: Introduction

by Emily McFarlan Miller

I like “Blue Like Jazz” by Donald Miller. I like the just-released movie adaptation, too. I may even like Miller’s 2009 sort-of sequel “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” more. All three describe the elements of plot in a story; specifically, how God can use those elements in your life story.  So does this sermon I gave in 2007 about the work I do with my nonprofit, Hope for the First Nations.

You can read more about this series here. And you can read the rest of it over the next two weeks here. Here’s the introduction.

I. Introduction.

Maybe because I’m a writer, I feel like I relate to God best as the “Author of Life,” as He is called in Acts 3:15In this chapter, Peter and John are on their way to the temple to pray when they meet a lame man begging at the temple gate. Peter tells him, “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.” And he does. And everyone who had seen him sitting in front of that gate begging every day sees him do it. And God uses that. He uses everything that has happened in this lame man’s life up to the point, and Peter and John are able to share the hope that they’ve found in Jesus with everyone who watched these events unfold. Peter tells them:

“You killed the Author of Life, but God raised him from the dead.  We are witnesses of this.  By faith in the name of Jesus, this man whom you see and know was made strong.  It is Jesus’ name and the faith that comes through Him that has given this complete healing to him, as you can all see.”

In the same way, when I look back at the partof my life story that God, the Author of Life, has written so far, it makes perfect sense to me what I do on the reservation, why I do it and why I’ve kept doing it for the past eight years.

Read all posts in the “How God can use your life story” series here.

Photo credit: Hope for the First Nations. Arrows divider via IROCKSOWHAT.

