A new thing… and an announcement

by Emily McFarlan Miller

Earlier this week, I posted I had heard God telling me to write for myself. And to write for Him. Today, I have that announcement I promised.

It all comes back to The Moody.

This has been a running joke since I moved to Chicago after college and half the friends I made in the city had gone to college at the Moody Bible Institute. Then I got a ticket (later dismissed, mind you) for making an improper left-hand turn in front of the Moody Bible Institute. I also nearly got hit by a car while riding my bike near the Moody Bible Institute, I once took the wrong bus, got lost and got off in front of the Moody Bible Institute and I married a man who had gone to the Moody Bible Institute. You get the idea.

So it should come as no surprise that as I was looking and listening and perceiving what it was God wanted me to write, after very clearly hearing Him tell me to write for Him, I got an email from The Moody.

This time, it was Moody Publishers, and they asked if I was interested in writing for a new thing they were doing called Start Marriage Right.

Here’s what Start Marriage Right is about:

We would like to cordially invite you to the marriage after the wedding!

Whether you are single, dating, engaged, or newlyweds, we’ve created StartMarriageRight.com for you—with articles, interviews, and resources to help you prepare for marriage, because we believe that your wedding day is just the beginning!

Its tagline is, “Enjoy the wedding. Love the marriage.” I kind of love that.

I talked to God, and He said, “Obviously.” I talked to my husband. I promised to show him everything I write before I submit it to proof for overshares and theological errors (I’m not the one who went to The Moody). I don’t think he is too worried.

Yes, I said. I think I would be very interested.

My first post is up today, and it answers the question, “Do I have a soul mate?” Because my pastor in college once said that was the question he most often was asked as a pastor, and because incredibly well-intentioned people always are calling Joel and me “soul mates.” I’m really very flattered by that. But I’m also really very worried about everybody who buys into this idea of soul mates and follows it to its inevitable conclusion: If I am not happy, you must not be The One, and he or she still must be out there somewhere.

You’ll also notice I got the word “scotch” on a Moody website.

I’m not saying I have all the answers. Joel and I have been married less than a year. But I’m looking for them, and I’m happy to share I what I find with you. That’s all God asks of us: “You will be his witness to all men of what you have seen and heard” (Acts 22:15).

Today, this is what I heard from God:

Take words with you and return to the Lord. Say to him: ‘Forgive all our sins and receive us graciously, that we may offer the fruit of our lips.” — Hosea 14:2

Here I am, with my words. They are my offering.

Photo credit: Shauna Bittle.

